on April 8, 2010 by Archivist1 in April, Archive_2010, Print Articles, Comments Off on April 8, 2010: Photo Inset: Les Soeurs de la Visitation Convent.

April 8, 2010: Photo Inset: Les Soeurs de la Visitation Convent.

(A July readers extra: A timeless article from our older issues.)

View from road, Convent Building in back ground, half obscured by trees.

Les Soeurs de la Visitation Convent

Photo Inset: Les Soeurs de la Visitation Convent. The picture is of what we now know as Les Soeurs de la Visitation Convent and was taken by Jules-Alexandre Castonguay (1877-1972). The original land grant was given in 1839 to Philip Michael VanKoughnet. He was the first elected legislator in Ontario and a leading politician and provincial judge. He was also elected to the Legislative Assembly for Canada West representing Rideau District in 1856. (In 1862 this became James Skead’s seat). The building and occupancy of the stone house by James Dyke and then by the second owner James Skead was from the mid-1860s to the mid-1880s. The Visitandines arrived at the site in 1909 will depart 100 years later. Architecturally, the 1864 stone house is still much in its original configuration and well-maintained, the chapel and its decoration are spectacular; the convent block, though simple in configuration, is well built and maintained. Skead also in 1859-60 purchased the land where Hilson School is and built a home for his father, William Skead, though he did not move into the Dyke house next door until sometime between 1875 and 1881. This picture is from the collection of Mr. Ken Elder and the information is compliments of David Jeanes of the Ottawa Historical Society. See page 21 for Christine Leadman’s column about the development of this historical site.

Tags: ,

No Comments

Comments are disabled.